Autumn – A Time of Change


It has been awhile since my last post.  Autumn is always a crazy time for me…back to work after a summer of lazy days…the culmination of a year’s worth of planning at Hamilton’s Pagan Harvest Festival…This year has been crazier than most and unfortunately that has affected much in my life, from how frequently I blog to how frequently I find myself wanting to curl up in the quiet and just be away from everything.

For me, autumn is also traditionally my time of Change. September always seem to bring growth and evolution along with their crisp winds. October brings introspection and the beginnings of winter hibernation as I consider new options and where my path may lead me over the coming year. In the past, this has included changes in my education, my relationships, my job…my overall path in life.  It’s the time of year when my path veers into a sharp turn and I have to slow down and pay close attention.

I suppose some of this stems from the fact that school/college starts every year in September.  Growing up, every autumn brought with it new possibilities.  New teachers, new classrooms, new friends.  When I moved away from home to attend college, there was an even stronger impact.  Change wormed its way into every aspect of my life…suddenly I was on my own, responsible for my own apartment, to pay my bills, to show up to class on time…It was scary and awesome at the same time.

This year, I find myself looking further ahead than normal and considering my career, my goals, even whether it’s time for a change of location (though I admit just the idea of moving tires me out).  In the next year or so, all may change and after spending a good amount of time considering that, I’m good with it.  All bets are off.  All doors are open and I’m willing to take a look through them all before I choose which to step through.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

