Crochet: Keeping the palms warm! (Fingers come later!)


I had no idea I would like crocheting so much.

I’ve only being doing it for a month or so but I love being able to do something productive when I would otherwise be simply sitting, such as when I’m watching a movie or sitting on the subway.  Now if I could just figure out how to read and crochet! Hmmmmm…..

I plan to crochet most of my Yule gifts this year…likely scarves, which are pretty straightforward, or arm warmers.  How I love arm warmers!! I’ve said it many times, I really like crocheting because I see results so quickly.  I haven’t attempted gloves…have no idea how I’d go about crocheting digits so I’m waiting until I have the palm section down. 😉  I figure I’ll give arm warmers as gifts this year and then mail out the fingers as I figure them out…Next year’s Yule gift!

I tried to make my first pair a couple of weeks ago, basely loosely on a pattern I saw online.   It was easier than I had expected.  I of course made some mistakes but my first prototypes served their purpose.  Here are a few pairs I have made so far….

My first experimental pair

I have continued to work mainly with acrylic yarn but I have a few wool pairs in the works as well. Most wool makes me itchy (alpaca being the exception so far) but so far I find I can still crochet with it.

B&W Striped...as ordered 😉

 

A new lacy crochet stitch I discovered in one of my million crochet books! I love the library!

I’m now experimenting with more lacy crochet stitches and using ribbon to accessorize…..More pics to come!

Since then, I’ve

1 Comment

  1. These are really cool. I love crocheting armwarmers, too. Such a fun and quick project with great results.
    Sal


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

